There are two methods to login then edit your Page or Post using Elementor Editor
Either method can be used depending on your preference.
Method 1
Edit a Page or Post using the WordPress backend Dashboard
- Login to your WordPress website – You will arrive at the Admin Dashboard
- Click either Pages or Posts in the left menu depending on whether your content is a Page or a Post
- If you Hover over any Page or Post title other clickable links will appear
- DO NOT click ‘Edit Page’ or ‘Edit Post’ click ‘Edit with Elementor’ in all cases
- The Elementor Editor will open
Method 2
Edit a Page or Post by navigating to that Page or Post
- Login to your WordPress website – You will arrive at the Admin Dashboard
- Click the ‘house’ icon top left. This will take you to the front end home page
- Navigate to any Page or Post you want to edit
- DO NOT click ‘Edit Page’ or ‘Edit Post’ click ‘Edit with Elementor’ in all cases
- The Elementor Editor will open
Edit Existing Content using Elementor Editor
The Editor is comprised of two distinctive sides. The right hand shows your Page or Post as it looks in the front end and the left hand side displays a widget’s content/settings once that widget is selected on the right.
- Select a widget on the right side of the screen that you wish to edit by clicking the Widget top right Pencil icon
- This will make its settings appear on the left hand side
- Edit the widget as required (in some cases such as a text widget editing can be done using both the left and right sides)
- When you have finished editing, click the top right ‘Publish’ button (It will be pink if changes have been made)
- To exit the Editor do NOT use your browser back button. This does not exit the Page or Post it will leave you still logged into the Editor which means if anyone else needs to edit the Page or Post they will be locked out
- To exit Elementor Editor correctly click the ‘Burger (3 vertical lines)’ icon top left then click ‘Exit to WordPress’
- On the next screen click the top left icon to return to the Dashboard
- You can now select another Page or Post to edit
- When finished editing your Pages or Posts logout from WordPress by hovering over your avatar/name top right then clicking ‘Log Out’
What if I make a mistake whilst Editing?
If you make a mistake whilst editing click the History icon bottom left. Under the ACTIONS tab you will be presented with a chronological list of your all changes.
You can select any time point in the list to revert back to that point in time.
Clicking Editing Started will reverse everything you’ve done since starting this particular editing session.
Further to this you can select the REVISIONS tab. This will restore previous versions of the entire Page or Post back to a time point before you began editing it.